The One Who Doesn’t Know Defeat

The other day, I was working out or at least trying to finish my workout. I had to stop a lot just to catch my breath. I was able to get to 30 minutes of working out. I didn’t have any energy left. My breathing was like one of my dogs which is ridiculously loud and fast. I tried to push myself and just put whatever energy I had left to finish the workout, but I couldn’t push myself anymore. I was like I’m done! I started thinking about just giving up exercising in general, but I decided to continue.

The Bible talks about running the race in Hebrews 12:1-2(NLT). It says “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. We do this by keeping our eyes on Jesus, the champion who initiates and perfects our faith. Because of the joy awaiting him, he endured the cross, disregarding its shame. Now he is seated in the place of honor beside God’s throne.”

That weight that God wants us to take off is all the worry that we have. He doesn’t want us to worry about the things of this world. He only wants us to care about what He thinks. All of the things of this world will pass away (1 John 2:17), but only God remains. The Bible says that He takes care of the birds and the trees and He care much more for his children so He will take care of you (Matthew 6:25-34).

Then there is the sin that this verse talks about. Sin in general makes us fall, but the sin that the author wrote about was unbelief or loving the fact that we are God’s chosen a little too much. It’s saying that we all easily fall into one of these two categories. They will slow us down in our race. Honestly, who wants to be the slow competitor in a life long race?

Race with endurance. Even if you are tired or you feel like giving up, keep going. As you keep running, you’re endurance level will increase and you will see what happened in your past as a piece of cake. Fight against your feelings and I can guarantee you will get a result.

God knows no defeat and you shouldn’t either. God is the God of angel armies. He has armies and if He is running out of angels, He’ll just create some more. He doesn’t even need them. He could defeat Satan with just a look, a whisper, a breeze, a wink, etc. That’s just how powerful God is. He knows no defeat because all He does is “Win, win, win no matter what.”

God is a lot stronger than we can imagine. Think about it this way: If you made a balloon animal, wouldn’t you be stronger than it? Yes because you know everything including all it’s weaknesses. It means you know that anything sharp will destroy it. God knows everything He made, including Satan. If he gets out of line, God destroys him.

When you feel like giving up, think about the God that you serve. THE God that knows no defeat and you shouldn’t either. God has the final say in everything that happens. Don’t give up keep running and fighting. The only way we fail and we are defeated is if we give up. Don’t give in even if things look grim. Right there, in that moment, God is at work.

Let’s pray:

God,

Thank you for being here for me. I praise and thank you because you are mighty and powerful. I need strength to continue. Sometimes I want to give up, but just when I’m about to you are right there carrying me. Guide me through this process. Help me see you as my defender and a conqueror. Help me walk in faith so that I do not succumb to the forces of darkness trying to drown me. I trust in you my Great I Am. I know that you have not forsaken me. I love you, God. 

Amen

Leave a Reply

