A Lion VS Fear

There’s something about a lion that always gets my attention.

When you look at them, you see strength and power, but there’s something else that catches my attention. When the lion walks, he’s so sure of himself. It’s as if God has already told him that he’s on top… and he’s an animal. He’s not afraid of his prey, but it’s afraid of him. He knows no fear.

I once heard this in a podcast:

“Do the thing you fear most and the death of fear is certain”

-Mark Twain

We are all afraid of something. We all worry about something. The question I ask myself is why? Why would I be afraid? Fear is being afraid of (someone or something) as likely to be dangerous, painful, or threatening. Fear is a powerful emotion that if not dealt with will become a problem. It’s a paralyzing emotion that will stop you from achieving your dreams and goals for your life. It can even stop God’s plan for your life. It’s like being physically paralyzed for the rest of your life except it’s mental.

I believe that fear is a lack of trust in God. Lack of trust that he loves you enough to care for you. That mindset is exactly what our enemy wants. He wants us stop trusting God. David was the prime example of trust in God regardless of any fear that he faced. He killed a giant when everyone else hid in their tents because he trusted God, he knew who God was, and he knew who God created him to be. Remember, this was after God had chosen him as a king over all of his brothers.

The only way to battle fear is with the help of God. You have to ask God to show you who He created you to be. A lion knows exactly who he is and he walks confident of that and we should to. Ask God what His original plan for you is. Ask Him to show you your true value. Ask God to reveal Himself to you as a caring father. Tell Him that you are having a hard time trusting Him, but that you want to.

Then as you continue asking this from Him, rebuke any thoughts that come to mind contrary to God’s word. Use God’s word as the sword that it was meant to be and fight. When you feel you can’t fight anymore, ask God for strength and fight some more.

Here are bible verses to help you start in your fight against fear and anxiety:

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:34

“Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” Psalm 23:4

“When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought me joy.” Psalm 94:19

“The Lord is my light and my salvation whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life of whom shall I be afraid?” Psalm 27:1

“Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind.” 2 Timothy 1:7

Don’t give up. Fight. Don’t let the enemy squash God’s gift and dream for you. Remember His plans are always best and you will be happy. Take the step. Do what you fear most and the death of fear is certain. God will honor that and the devil will hate it. He will tremble when he sees you walk into the path that God has set for you. He will see that no matter how many things he throws at you, you will still believe. You will still follow. You will be victorious.

Don’t stop. Keep going. In spite of all pain and danger, go and continue fighting. Trust me if God says that he needs you to do it and you feel fearful, you’re about to release something that the enemy is trying to stop from happening. Maybe what God needs you to do will break chains and bondage. Maybe you will release a blessing for your life. Walk by faith not by sight. Trust God and don’t lean on your own understanding. God needs his people to go against the spirit of fear and face it head on.

Let’s pray about this:

God,

We thank you because you don’t give us the spirit of fear, but of courage. Thank you because you have won the victory. Thank you for having a dream for my life. I know that Satan is trying to paralyze me. Right now, I come against the spirit of fear and of anxiety. I declare that it has no power over my life in the name of Jesus. I cast out any paralyzing agents that are trying to work against the will of God for my life. I declare a spirit of courage guides me. I break any bondage and any generational curses in the name of Jesus. I declare that nothing and no one will stand in the way that God has made for me. Holy spirit, shield my ears and mind from the arrows thrown at me. I declare a spirit of David over my life in the name of Jesus. I declare that like a lion I will rise up with all authority given to me and I will be on the offense, no longer on the defense, because he is already defeated. I thank you for choosing me, for saving me and for loving me. Thank you for using me and for whatever it is that will be released and broken as I follow you.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

