The Waiting Game

Waiting for something or someone is one of the most frustrating things. When you’re waiting you don’t know if it’s going to happen. All you know is that you have to wait. You’re scared that it might not happen and that you will feel a tremendous amount of disappointment. You feel that it could turn out to be nothing, but a waste of time. After all, nothing in this world is certain.

The only time that something is certain is if God has said it. The bible says in Isaiah 40:8The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God will stand forever.” If God said it, it’s going to happen. Nothing and no one can ever do anything to change it if God has said it. That’s how great God is. He is faithful even when we aren’t.

What happens if God hasn’t said anything? Should we just give up now while we are ahead? I would say to ask God for wisdom and guidance. Sometimes we should just give up because it’s not in his plan for us or it’s just not good for us. Sometimes we should just wait until God says something differently. That’s where it’s hard.

God hasn’t said yes or no, but he said to wait and we start seeing things go wrong. We don’t know if we should keep going or just give up. It’s easier at times to run away than to keep going. If God said wait, then wait. Trust in Him. Trust in his plan. He will never disappoint you and he will always want what’s best for you. He created us so he always will know what’s best.

Romans 5:3-4 says “Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope.” Another word for perseverance is steadfastness. Being steadfast means being patient and firm even when everything and everyone says that you are a fool for doing so. It reminds me of the house planted on the rock in Matthew 7:24-27. It stood firm no matter how much rain fell on it and how much the winds blew.

Remember, all good things come to those who wait (in God 😉 ). For those that are becoming impatient and those who just don’t know what to do, pray like this:

God,

I know you have plans for me and I don’t have an idea of how awesome they are. Right now, I’m losing my patience and I’m sorry for not trusting you. I don’t know what I should do. I need your guidance and I need wisdom to know whether it’s good or bad and what decision I should make. I can’t do this on my own. Take control of my emotions because I can’t control them. Fill me with you, God, so I only hear your voice. I can’t trust myself, but I will trust you. Thank you for this chance that will help me produce character. Thank you because you always listen to me. 

Amen

Photo source: Julia Mizrahi

Leave a Reply

