STOP

Imagine that a loved one was in a car accident. Like any person I’m sure you would’ve left in a split second and floored that gas pedal on your car to get to the hospital. In times like that, we don’t usually think. We are just focused on getting there to see how bad it is, to say goodbye if need be, or to try to fix it. We just need to be there with them at the very moment that we get that phone call.

Something like that happened to me recently. No, it wasn’t an accident or anything of that sort. Thankfully, everyone I love is fine. It was another less serious situation. Regardless, I just got into this state of panic and anxiety. I just couldn’t think straight. I felt like I needed an answer from God in that same moment or else I was going to go insane. I needed to fix that situation immediately. I kept hearing the Holy Spirit just telling me to get on my knees and pray about it because I was truly freaking out. I knew that what I was feeling wasn’t God in that very moment.

I’m going to be honest. I didn’t get on my knees to pray. Wasn’t my best move, but the Holy Spirit spoke to me again even though I didn’t do it. He said these words “Be still and know that I am God” which is in Psalm 46:10. Just with those words, the Holy Spirit calmed the storms inside me. It was almost instant that I felt relieved and like everything was going to be ok. I laughed at my meltdown right after.

Sometimes God just needs you to stop and think for a minute. He doesn’t need to tell you what His plan is or how He’s going to fix the mess. He just needs you to stop, and remind you that He is God, king over all, and the creator. There is nothing on this earth that happens without Him knowing about it. He doesn’t need you to be worrying about anything. Advancing His kingdom is literally the only thing we should ever have on our mind .

Worry is a lack of trust in God and even a lack of understanding and knowledge of who He is. I’m not just talking about who He has been to you. I’m talking about His nature. He loves you, He cares for you, He has a plan for everyone including you and me. He is a loving God. Think about it this way. Imagine you have this person or animal that you have come to just love so much. If that person or animal gets hurt and you had the power to heal them, wouldn’t you do it? How about if they were hungry and you had all the food in the world? Would you feed them?

This is what God says in His word about this:

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 27 And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?[a] 28 And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, 29 yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 30 But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31 Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.34 “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” – Matthew 6:25-34

He takes care of His beautiful creation. There’s nothing to fear because God is always there for you and there’s nothing that the enemy can ever do to stop you from becoming His original masterpiece. Worry is a choice that you make. Satan doesn’t choose for you. Eddie James from the Skit Guys says “Worry is like a rocking chair. It gives you something to do, but you aren’t going anywhere.” I forget this at times when I need to remember it the most because I’m not thinking. I don’t stop to remember who God is and what His promises are to me. If you are anything like me or you’ve noticed that it’s an area in your life that you are struggling with a lot, pray about it like this:

Thank you God for my life. Thank you God because you have and always will be in control of everything. You know God that this situation has made me worry. Even though I don’t know what is going to happen, give me peace and remind me that you are in control. Remind me to be still and to think about all the ways that you have helped me get through other situations. Remind me of people like the Israelites that You saved from the hand of Pharoah and of David when You saved him from the hand of Saul. Remind me that you love me so much and that you will always take care of me. Thank You God for every problem because it will increase my faith and trust in You. Thank you God for being with me and guiding me through this process. Amen.

Leave a Reply

